Meet Your Academic Advisor

The Office of Undergraduate Student Services, Advising and Records is the home of your professional advising staff, and we are here to help you. If you have any questions regarding academics, please find your advisor in the Professional Academic Advisors section on this page and email him or her to schedule an appointment.

Contact us at: seasadvising@gwu.edu or by phone at 1-800-537-SEAS or 202-994-6158

Visit us at: Science & Engineering Hall - Suite 2500

Jonathan Ragone is the director of undergraduate student services, advising, and records for the School of Engineering and Applied Science. Jonathan comes to SEAS from Stony Brook University in New York, where he formerly was the associate director for undergraduate colleges. During his career, Jonathan has worked in both student and academic affairs, while holding a variety of positions as a residence hall director, assistant director for college housing, academic coordinator for the graduate program in public health, and associate director for undergraduate colleges.

Jonathan received a Bachelor of Science in biology and Master of Arts in liberal studies with a concentration in human resources and education. Additionally, Jonathan has taught undergraduate courses on leadership as part of the Living Learning Center for Leadership Development and its associated academic minor.

 

 



Shay Shiely is a professional advisor for students studying applied science and technology, computer science, and systems engineering. Before SEAS, Shay was a study abroad advisor with the George Washington University and managed the Focus on Fall Abroad Community. Shay received her Bachelor of Arts from DePauw University, taught with Teach For America, completed a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship in Lithuania, and completed a Master of Education from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas and a Master of Arts from the George Washington University.
 


 

 

 


 



Mary Denmon is a professional advisor for students studying in the Civil Engineering and Mechanical Engineering Departments.  Originally from Upstate New York, she received her Bachelor of Science degree in biological sciences from Binghamton University, and her Master's of Education in higher education administration from the University at Buffalo.  Before coming to GW, Mary was an academic advisor in the College of Engineering at Virginia Tech.  She also has experience working in transition and retention related programs for first-year and transfer students.

 

 


 


 



Brendan Wright is the professional advisor for students studying biomedical engineering, electrical engineering, and computer engineering. Brendan received his Bachelor of Arts from SUNY New Paltz in women's, gender, and sexuality studies. Following this, he completed a Master of Arts in higher education and student affairs at New York University. Before joining SEAS, Brendan worked within the New York University College of Arts and Science Advising Center as an academic advisor. Additionally, he has previously worked at The New School in student health services.

Photo of Professor Matthew Kay
Professor Matthew Kay
SEH 5670
202 994-2898
phymwk@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Zhenyu Li
Professor Zhenyu Li
SEH 5590
202-994-4272
zhenyu@gwu.edu


 
Photo of Professor Murray Loew
Professor Murray Loew
SEH 6660
202-994-5910
loew@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Jason Zara
Professor Jason Zara
SEH 5610
202-994-2402
jzara@gwu.edu


 
Photo of Professor Vesna Zderic
Professor Vesna Zderic
SEH 6670
202-994-7593
zderic@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Emilia Entcheva
Professor Emilia Entcheva
SEH 5660
202-994-7807
entcheva@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Chung Hyuk Park
Professor Chung Hyuk Park
SEH 6655
202-994-5147
chpark@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor David Lee
Professor David Lee
Tompkins 101B
202-994-2183
dtlee@gwu.edu 
Photo of Professor Sameh S. Badie
Professor Sameh S. Badie
SEH 3830
202-994-8803
badies@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Samer Hamdar
Professor Samer Hamdar
SEH 3810
202-994-6652
hamdar@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Kim Roddis
Professor Kim Roddis
SEH 3860
202-994-8515
roddisi@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Tianshu Li
Professor Tianshu Li
SEH 3850
202-994-3809
tsli@gwu.edu


 
Photo of Professor Pedro Silva
Professor Pedro Silva
SEH 3820
202-994-4901
silvap@gwu.edu
Photo of Professor Howie Huang
Professor Howie Huang
SEH 6610
202 994-0523
howie@gwu.edu
Photo of Professor Rachelle Heller
Professor Rachelle Heller
SEH 4615
202-242-6698
sheller@gwu.edu
Photo of Professor Hyeong-Ah Choi
Professor Hyeong-Ah Choi
SEH 5850
202-994-5916
hchoi@gwu.edu
Photo of Professor Poorvi Vora
Professor Poorvi Vora
SEH 4610
202-242-1864
poorvi@gwu.edu
Photo of Professor Milos Doroslovacki
Professor Milos Doroslovacki
SEH 6620
202 994-6916
doroslov@gwu.edu
Professor Tom Mazzuchi
Professor Tom Mazzuchi
SEH 2630
202-994-9187
mazzu@gwu.edu
Professor James Lee
Professor James Lee
SEH 4630
202-994-5971
jdlee@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Charles Garris
Professor Charles Garris
SEH 4640
202-994-3646
garris@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Michael Keidar
Professor Michael Keidar
SEH 3550
202-994-6929
keidar@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Yin-Lin Shen
Professor Yin-Lin Shen
SEH 3630
202-994-5995
yshen@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Adam Wickenheiser
Professor Adam Wickenheiser
SEH 3640
202-994-8392
amwick@gwu.edu
Photo of Professor Philipe Bardet
Professor Philipe Bardet
SEH 3580
202-994-2650
bardet@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Lijie Grace Zhang
Professor Lijie Grace Zhang
SEH 3590
202-994-2479
lgzhang@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Murray Snyder
Professor Murray Snyder
SEH 2870
202-994-4706
snydermr@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Elias Balaras
Professor Elias Balaras
SEH 3870
202-994-3326
balaras@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Chunlei Liang
Professor Chunlei Liang
SEH 4620
202-994-7073
chliang@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Megan Leftwich
Professor Megan Leftwich
SEH 3880
202-994-9830
mleftwich@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Kausik Sarkar
Professor Kausik Sarkar
SEH 4550
202-994-2724
sarkar@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Yongsheng Leng
Professor Yongsheng Leng
SEH 4660
202-994-5964
leng@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Taeyoung Lee
Professor Taeyoung Lee
SEH 3610
202-994-8710
tylee@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Lorena Barba
Professor Lorena Barba
SEH 3620
202-994-3715
labaraba@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Santiago Solares
Professor Santiago Solares
SEH 3560
202-994-0372
ssolares@gwu.edu

 
Photo of Professor Saniya LeBlanc
Professor Saniya LeBlanc
SEH 3570
202-994-8436
sleblanc@gwu.edu