Area of Focus

All applicants to graduate degree programs must choose an area of focus under their field of study. Below is a list of the current areas of focus.

Biomedical Engineering

Medical Imaging
Medical Instrumentation

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Engineering Mechanics
Environmental Engineering
Geotechnical Engineering
Structural Engineering
Transportation Safety Engineering
Water Resources Engineering

Computer Engineering

Computer Architecture and High Performance Computing
Microelectronics and VLSI Systems

Computer Science

Algorithms and Theory
Artificial Intelligence and Robotics
Bioinformatics and Biomedical Computing
Computer Architecture and Networks
Computer Security and Information Assurance
Database and Information systems
Networking and Mobile Computing
Parallel and Distributed Computing
Pervasive Computing and Embedded Systems
Software Engineering and Systems

Electrical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering (Ph.D only)
Communications and Networks
Electrical Power and Energy
Electromagnetics, Radiation Systems and Microwave Engineering
Microelectronics and VLSI Systems
Signal and Image Processing, Systems and Controls

Engineering Management

Crisis, Emergency and Risk Management
Economics, Finance and Cost Engineering
Engineering and Technology Management
Environmental and Energy Management
Knowledge and Information Management

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering
Design of Mechanical Engineering Systems
Fluid Mechanics, Thermal Sciences, and Energy
Industrial Engineering (under the MS only)
Robotics, Mechatronics, and Controls
Solid Mechanics and Materials Science
Structures and Dynamics

Systems Engineering

Enterprise Information Assurance
Operations Research and Management Science
Systems Engineering and Integration

Telecommunications Engineering